Board of Trustees

School for Friends is governed by a Board of Trustees of no more than sixteen members, whom are recommended by the Friends Meeting of Washington. Parent representatives serve on the board, and the Head of School is also a member of the Board.

New Board members are selected by a nominating committee appointed by the President from parents and others who are willing to serve and are approved by the acting Board.

Is School for Friends a parent-run school? Yes and no. The group of parents who created the school did two things that determined how the school would be governed. They hired professional staff with knowledge of early childhood to direct and teach in the school. And they elected to be a Quaker school by accepting a generous donation for start-up costs from the Friends Meeting of Washington.

The founding families wrote these decisions into the by-laws of the School. As a result, parents have a strong voice in the policies of the school through their parent representatives on the board, yet theirs is not the only voice – the school is not a parent cooperative. For more details on the governing of the school, see the By-laws.

School policy decisions are made by consensus/unity.

Name Term Expires
Gaye Williams, President  2021
Francesco Valentini, Vice President  2021
Natalia Sorgente, Treasurer  2020
John Breyer, Quaker, Trustee  2023
Sam Buffone, Parent, Trustee  2022
Alice Dei-Sheldon, Trustee 2023
Jeremy Smith, Trustee 2020
Mirenda Meghelli, Parent, Secretary 2022
Marisa Yeakey, Quaker, Trustee 2020
Si Kailian, Parent ,Trustee 2023
Merate Kibriye, Trustee 2023
Sabina Zeffler, Teacher Representative 2021